First Science From Juno at Jupiter

First Science From Juno at Jupiter

01:08:49
FR YouTube

Scientists from NASA’s Juno mission to Jupiter discussed their first in-depth science results in a media teleconference on May 25, 2017, at 2 p.m. ET (11 a.m. PT, 1800 UTC), when multiple papers with early findings were published online by the journal Science and Geophysical Research Letters. (NASA News Audio with Visuals) The teleconference participants were: Diane Brown, program executive at NASA Headquarters in Washington Scott Bolton, Juno principal investigator at Southwest Research Institute in San Antonio Jack Connerney, deputy principal investigator at NASA's Goddard Space Flight Center in Greenbelt, Maryland Heidi Becker, Juno radiation monitoring investigation lead at NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory in Pasadena, California Candy Hansen, Juno co-investigator at the Planetary Science Institute in Tucson, Arizona Juno launched on Aug. 5, 2011, from Cape Canaveral Air Force Station, Florida, and arrived in orbit around Jupiter on July 4, 2016. In its current exploration mission, Juno soars low over the planet's cloud tops, as close as about 2,100 miles (3,400 kilometers). During these flybys, Juno probes beneath the obscuring cloud cover of Jupiter and studies its auroras to learn more about the planet's origins, structure, atmosphere and magnetosphere. For more information about the Juno mission, visit: https://nasa.gov/juno https://www.missionjuno.swri.edu/




Astroquiz

Testez vos connaissances en astronomie

La planète Jupiter

La planète Jupiter, la géante gazeuse

Les planètes

Questions pèle-mêle sur toutes les planètes du système solaire

Les planètes naines

Questions sur les planètes naines du système solaire

Annonce

La planète Terre

La planète bleue, notre berceau fragile et précieux

L'Homme dans l'espace

Les hommes et les femmes qui vont dans l'espace ou qui y contribuent